If life begins at 40, can it begin again at 70?

I have somewhat of a contemplative approach to what I refer to as ‘zero birthdays’. I am puzzled by people who dread turning 30, although that was a milestone for me as it represented the end of a marriage. The ‘over the hill’ concerns of approaching 40 didn’t phase me at all. In fact, I felt good about where I was at and how I felt at that point in my life. At 50 I was in the first year of a new marriage, which brought many years of enjoyable adventures and experiences. Reaching 60 for me meant starting retirement after 30 years of working for the provincial government. I had mixed emotions about how I might handle retirement but am happy to say that I adjusted quickly and have enjoyed the freedom and flexibility that retirement has provided me.

Photo by Tim Cooper on Unsplash

In just a few months I’ll be reaching another zero birthday. This is one zero birthday I’ve already been reflecting on for months. Somewhat sadly, in my early 60s I became single again. More recently, having been through some static years with the pandemic, followed by a somewhat unexpected need to have both hips replaced, I’m now wondering what the new-and-improved me will accomplish in my golden years. Having now returned to volunteer house sitting, I recently did my first international flights since just before the pandemic started. Next month I will do another sit in the USA, which will take me into the new year. It will give me lots of time to ponder what my seventies might bring. I am not delusional enough to expect (or want) to be the first Golden Bachelorette, but what exactly will my goals be, and what will I accomplish? That’s a million-dollar question. What’s in the cards for me?

Photo by petr sidorov on Unsplash

I also realize no one will come knocking on my door, offering me exciting new adventures and experiences. I realize I will be the author of the next chapter of my life. How will I write it? What will I accomplish? How long will I have the energy and enthusiasm to buy into new experiences? Of course, we don’t have the answer to the question of longevity, so wise people learn to live each day to its fullest. What will that look like for me, I wonder? Chatting with a friend recently, we went through a list of ‘been there, done that’ of our younger years, and also added things that we’re not willing (or more honestly) not capable of trying in our later years.

Photo by Izzy Park on Unsplash

Now perhaps I need to focus on what I am open to trying and doing, and to figure out what I would see as successful living in my golden years. It’s certainly not going back to my 70s, as in the 1970s, as I don’t think I’d want to repeat some of those ‘adventures’!

5 thoughts on “If life begins at 40, can it begin again at 70?

  1. This is a terrific, reflective post, Francine. In a few months I’ll be closing in on the end of the decade you’re about to start. In my experience, aside from a few more aches and pains and less energy than earlier times, I love being this age. It feels like it’s all a gift, to do with what you want. I think you’re right that you’ll be your own author of this chapter, and my guess is that you’ll nail it!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Personally I am almost always open to new adventures. Sure I have slowed down a lot when compared to the 30 year old me. But, I still wake up wondering what mischief I will get into today? All the best……Chris

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: No cartwheels, no running: I plan to walk my way to good health | Where on Earth is Francine?

Leave a comment