No cartwheels, no running: I plan to walk my way to good health

I anticipated that 2024 would be a banner year for me. I even wrote a blog about it: If life begins at 40, can it begin again at 70? I touched on having become a bionic woman by getting new hips in 2022 and 2023, telling all who would listen that I planned to do cartwheels in 2024. It didn’t take much for me to realize that was a mental activity, rather than a physical one. As a child I was big on doing headstands and handstands, but never cartwheels, so why start in my 70s? Let’s get real.

In that same blog post, I also said that I realized that “no one will come knocking on my door, offering me exciting new adventures and experiences.” Although there was no actual knock at the door, at the end of 2023 I did enter into what is to be a long-term relationship with a man I’ve known for more than 20 years. That has already resulted in new adventures and experiences, which we plan to continue. After seven years of being single again, it is a happy change of lifestyle for me for which I am truly grateful.

Photo by Mayur Gala on Unsplash

Back to my mention of the replacement of both hips. One thing I often mentioned to people was the learning curve that’s forced upon you when health issues arise. I wasn’t too interested in knowing the details of how the hip replacement was actually done (too squeamish for that), but I was somewhat fascinated by other things I learned. I enjoyed the challenge of making my home as accessible as possible. I also was often overcome with emotion by the kind gestures, especially from strangers, when using a cane or a walker in public. It was a great reminder that there are many kind and caring people in this world. I must admit I also miss my blue accessibility parking permit, as it lessened the chance of people dinging my car doors!

Photo by Jubbar J. on Unsplash

So why am I mentioning this hip surgery, after the fact? Because in February of this year I went for what I believed was to be my ‘routine’ mammogram – every two years. Over the years, when the technician would forewarn me that it would be unpleasant for a short while, my stock answer was I had no doubt that cancer would be worse. How those words would come back to bite me. I now also recognize that there is no such thing as a routine mammogram. After a follow-up 3D mammogram, an ultrasound, a biopsy, and an appointment with a general surgeon, I learned that I have breast cancer. Since that time, my learning curve about breast cancer has escalated and yet I realize I still know very little. This is likely to be an ongoing journey with lots to learn along the way.

I have what is said to be a small lump so I am scheduled to soon have a lumpectomy, at which time samples of lymph nodes will also be removed. The good news would be radiation for six weeks, five days a week. Although that will supposedly be somewhat all-consuming, and I’ve been told by the surgeon to make my health my primary focus for May and June, that is still the good news. If there is involvement showing in the lymph nodes, then things are likely to be more complicated. One step at a time, I say, although of course I am generally aware of the bad news path journey too. For now, I’ll continue to focus on an encouraging outcome.

Photo by Ashley Whitlatch on Unsplash

A little over a month before the mammogram, I did a house sit for a retired oncologist who specialized in breast cancer. In emailing him and asking for any general thoughts (he lives in the US), his first comment was to make sure not to do this journey alone. He then shared information on the journey itself, but his first words have had a great impact on me. Soon after the results of the biopsy, I emailed the news to just about anyone I thought might be interested. I have already lent on anyone I know who has had any experience with breast cancer, and believe me when I say there are so many people. I’ve had many kind messages from those who tell me of cancer survivors with 20+ years of good health to date. The winner so far is a woman who volunteers with an organization I volunteer with, who had the surgery more than 50 years ago and is still out volunteering. I don’t think I can beat that record.

Photo by Angiola Harry on Unsplash

I have had time to ponder how I can use this experience to make a difference in this world, and especially to the lives of others. My first step today is to have registered for the Rankin Cancer Run. Let me clarify that there won’t be any running done on my part. I’ve never been a runner and I’m not about to start now. You’ll see from the website that the participants choose how they participate – by running, walking, or organizing a fundraising event sometime during 2024. My goal is to walk as regularly as I am able, hopefully during May and June, wearing the orange shirt I’ll receive – given to those who are ‘a survivor or battling cancer’. It felt strange to check that box off on the registration form – another stark reminder that I am battling cancer. However, my aim is also to be a survivor, to be able to be a support for the many who will sadly come after me and join me in this battle.

If you are able to support me and the cause with a donation, no matter the amount, I will appreciate it. Amazingly, 100% of the donations go to fund cancer care in Niagara. To make a donation to be applied to my ‘run’ (walk!): Please complete this page

Photo by Howie R on Unsplash

Like everyone, someday I hope cancer will be eradicated.

Wishing you good health and good life experiences – with family, friends, and strangers too.

Francine Sullivan

4 thoughts on “No cartwheels, no running: I plan to walk my way to good health

  1. Oh, Francine, so much good and then not so good news. First of all, it’s lovely to hear that you’re now happily sharing your life with someone. But how unfair to then get this breast cancer diagnosis. The good news on that front is that they really do seem to have a good handle on successful treatment, not to say that the treatments themselves aren’t a trial. I wish you the very best on this unplanned, unfortunate journey. Meanwhile, I’m happy to make a donation for your walk. Have fun with it, from one new hip “owner” to another! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jane, thank you so much for your kind words, and your generous donation. These new hips are being expected to take one cautious step after another. Hopefully I’ll be one of the many success stories. As you might expect, I doubt this will be the last post I’ll do on this new journey. 🌞

    Liked by 1 person

  3. my dear Francine, I’m so please to read your inspiring blog, even if I don’t usually comment on them.
    I can assure you that I really enjoy reading every single word.
    you are a very strong, kind person who deserves so much in life and I sincerely wish you a successful outcome from your lumpectomy.
    As I told Paul, I’ll continue paying for you. 
    Sending you Good Vibes, big hug and much love.
    Daniela xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment